While I am a little late for the #SundayFunday theme of Goals, it nonetheless seems important to state my goals for the next school year.

#1  Build community, relationships and healing in my classroom.

During her morning workshop at #TMC17, @cheesemonkeysf said, “It is not our job to fix students, but to heal their mathematical disconnect.”  I was blown away.  I’m pretty sure I’ve wondered how to “fix” a number of kids over the years.  It struck me that I really need to think about my attitude toward the learners with who I come into contact each day.  How do I inspire them?  How do I encourage them to make mistakes?  How do we grow together?  How does my classroom become an instrument of healing?

#2   Reflect.

During the spring semester I had the opportunity to think a lot about my own teaching while watching others teach.  It was a rare privilege to have that time, but it made me want more.  I am hoping to use this blog to do some of that reflecting.  The rest of the time, I am going to try to make more time to reflect with my colleagues on good teaching practices and becoming the educators we were meant to be.

#3  Implement more Rich Tasks and less factory work

I just finished reading Mathmatical Mindsets by Jo Boaler.  If you haven’t read it, you should.  The tagline says a lot:  Unleashing Students Potential through Creative Math, Inspiring Messages and Innovative Teaching.  Part of my curricula is filled with great places to make discoveries and be inspired and part, well, let’s just say, even I’m bored.  I hope this year to take advantage of all the fabulous resources out there and implement even a few more amazing tasks with a low floor and high ceiling.

#4  Allow Myself Space to Mess Up

My dad laughs at me when I yell at the TV when a player makes a terrible play.  I say, “but he’s supposed to be a professional!”  My dad simply shakes his head and says, “well, so are you.”  If I am going to encourage mistakes as growth opportunities in my student, I probably should do it with myself too.  I may not accomplish any of the things on this goal list this year, but that’s okay… at least my mistakes don’t show up on a highlight reel on national television 🙂

Leave a Reply

