First Day — Can’t Wait! #SundayFunday

It’s two weeks until my first day with learners (yes @gwaddellnvhs, I am trying to change my vocabulary!).  I have a lot of work to do (every surface is covered with shopping bags right now), but I’m still excited to get started with LEARNING.  School (for young people) begins on Thursday the 24th with shortened periods for freshmen only.

As they arrive, they’ll find supply lists and a few other hints (like activity listings and lunch schedules) on the desks along with copies of a quiz about me suggested by Sarah Carter @mathequalslove in her blog post 21 Ideas.  I changed it up a bit by making it all multiple choice and number answers.  Here’s my draft as of today.  I tried to use questions that would tell them a little about me.  I am still debating whether a google form would be more efficient, but I’m leaning toward paper to minimize the time I need to answer their questions later.  I’ll encourage them to start this right away.

As quizzes are finished, I will pass out the Noah’s Ark problem from Fawn Nguyen @fawnpnguyen.  Working in groups on this day gives me an idea of their personalities BEFORE we add in the upperclassmen and the drama that brings. We’ll begin with noticing and wondering and go from there.  I hope that we’ll gather to share some hints and tips at the end of the period to continue the problem in the future.

I feel pretty good about that plan for Algebra 1.  The week after that will bring name tents and lots of problem solving and group work.  Right now, I’m headed home from M cubed (our version of #TMC17 in Montana).  I’ll play some golf tomorrow and then head to school to do some more planning on Monday!  Class of 2021 here we come.